FILED UNDER Distress· DTC· Tracker

Consumer brand shutdowns
and distress
logged for 2025.

7 events logged with a date in 2025, each one dated, most with a linked source, month by month. The total reflects what was found for the year.

Maintained by
Taylor Sicard
Type
Living tracker
Entries
7 events logged
Window
Jan 24, 2025 – Dec 26, 2025
Who maintains this
Taylor Sicard

Co-founded WIN Brands Group, a DTC operator and acquirer with a multi-brand portfolio, where he ran diligence and post-close integration on the brands worth buying, and quietly passed on the ones that were not. Has sat on the buy side pricing distressed consumer brands, and on the operator side keeping brands out of that column. Advises founders and acquirers on the unit economics that separate a durable business from one running on borrowed time.

Full background →
Key takeaways

Across the year 2025, 7 consumer brand shutdown and distress events are logged here, each one dated, and 7 of them link to their source. Food & bev is the largest category at 57.1% of the total. Distress entries make up 57.1% and shutdown entries make up 42.9%. Totals reflect how much was found.

  • Every entry is listed below by month, with its source linked.
  • The yearly total measures how much was found for 2025.
Source: Taylor Sicard, Taylor Sicard Consulting · Updated
Part of The Index · TSC living data trackers
Live tracker · Generated from the deal store
Last generated September 21, 2026
7 events logged with a date in 2025.
7
Events logged
7
Distinct events
Food & bev
Leading category · 4 items
Jan 24, 2025 – Dec 26, 2025
Window covered
Window covered: Jan 24, 2025 – Dec 26, 2025. Every figure on this page is computed from the underlying records when the page is built; none is maintained by hand.
Year ledgers
2020202120222023202420252026

How to read
these counts.

How to read these counts

Read each yearly figure on this page as events logged: the consumer brand shutdown and distress events that have been found and dated for that year. Sourcing got much better over 2020 to 2026, so a larger total in a later year mostly reflects how much more was found. The page never sets one year's total against another's for that reason.

There is no outside census of consumer brand shutdown and distress events to measure coverage against, so the size of that effect is unmeasured here. On the acquisition side, where outside counts do exist, the share of R.L. Hulett's pet count held in these ledgers runs from 1% in 2025 to 6% in 2023.

Several kinds of entry are listed here, and the type column names each one. A shutdown is a brand that stopped trading. Distress covers bankruptcy filings and assignments for the benefit of creditors. A distressed sale is a brand bought out of distress, often still trading under its new owner, so it also appears on the exits tracker. A curated listing is a brand placed here by editorial judgment, such as a rescue financing read as a distress signal.

What holds up across years is the mix inside each year: which categories, what sizes, and who was involved. A month with no table means nothing was found for that month. Each of the 7 is logged once.

Nothing is logged for February, April, June, August, September, October, November 2025. That is a gap in what was found.

Everything logged in
2025, by month.

The monthly tables below list all 7 events logged for 2025.

Table M1 · December 20252 events logged
BrandCategoryWhat happenedAsset buyerSource
Konscious FoodsDec 26, 2025 · Plant-based seafood brand shut down, citing trade changes and plant-based category headwinds.
Food & bevShutdownnosh.com
iRobotDec 15, 2025 · Robot vacuum brand headed into bankruptcy, citing inflation and tariffs.
HomeDistressretaildive.com
Table M2 · July 20251 events logged
BrandCategoryWhat happenedAsset buyerSource
Del Monte FoodsJul 2, 2025 · The 139-year-old canned fruit and vegetable business filed for Chapter 11 and sought a sale; its brands were split among three buyers in 2026.
Food & bevDistressfooddive.com
Table M3 · May 20251 events logged
BrandCategoryWhat happenedAsset buyerSource
Meati FoodsMay 7, 2025 · Mycelium protein brand agreed to sell for about $4 million after roughly $450 million of invested capital - the starkest write-down in 2025 food.
Food & bevDistressnosh.com
Table M4 · March 20252 events logged
BrandCategoryWhat happenedAsset buyerSource
Solo BrandsMar 14, 2025 · Issued a going-concern warning flagging possible Chapter 11 or liquidation; 2024 net sales $454.6 million, down 8.1%, with Solo Stove down 15.4% to $297.4 million.
HomeDistressretaildive.com
FuturewiseMar 11, 2025 · Skincare brand wound down operations - one of the year's DTC beauty closures.
BeautyShutdownretaildive.com
Table M5 · January 20251 events logged
BrandCategoryWhat happenedAsset buyerSource
Chubby SnacksJan 24, 2025 · Kid-focused PB&J sandwich brand shut down.
Food & bevShutdownnosh.com
Work with Taylor

Most of these brands did not fail at the top line. They ran out of margin, then out of cash. If any of that is starting to rhyme with your own numbers, the earlier we look, the more options you still have.

Start a conversation

What 2025 was made of,
by category.

7 events logged in 2025, split by category. The counts below add up to that total.

Table 1 · Composition by category2025
CategoryTotal items loggedShare of ledgerWith a disclosed amountLargest disclosed
Food & bev
457.1%1$4M
Home
228.6%0Not disclosed
Beauty
114.3%0Not disclosed

Closures, and brands
that kept trading.

Table 2 · By type2025
TypeEvents loggedShare
Distress
457.1%
Shutdown
342.9%

The other years,
and the full ledger.

Year ledgers
2020202120222023202420252026
  Work with Taylor  ·  Consumer Commerce

Is your brand healthy, or just still moving?

I've run buy-side diligence on distressed consumer brands and the operator turnaround on brands worth saving. If you want an honest read on your margin, your payback, and the single points of failure a lender would find, I can give you the buy-side version before the market runs it on you. The form takes two minutes.

Start a conversation More about Taylor →