Across the year 2024, 11 consumer brand shutdown and distress events are logged here, each one dated, and 11 of them link to their source. Beauty is the largest category at 36.4% of the total. Distress entries make up 90.9% and shutdown entries make up 9.1%. Totals reflect how much was found.
- Every entry is listed below by month, with its source linked.
- The yearly total measures how much was found for 2024.
How to read
these counts.
Read each yearly figure on this page as events logged: the consumer brand shutdown and distress events that have been found and dated for that year. Sourcing got much better over 2020 to 2026, so a larger total in a later year mostly reflects how much more was found. The page never sets one year's total against another's for that reason.
There is no outside census of consumer brand shutdown and distress events to measure coverage against, so the size of that effect is unmeasured here. On the acquisition side, where outside counts do exist, the share of R.L. Hulett's pet count held in these ledgers runs from 1% in 2025 to 6% in 2023.
Several kinds of entry are listed here, and the type column names each one. A shutdown is a brand that stopped trading. Distress covers bankruptcy filings and assignments for the benefit of creditors. A distressed sale is a brand bought out of distress, often still trading under its new owner, so it also appears on the exits tracker. A curated listing is a brand placed here by editorial judgment, such as a rescue financing read as a distress signal.
What holds up across years is the mix inside each year: which categories, what sizes, and who was involved. A month with no table means nothing was found for that month. Each of the 11 is logged once.
Nothing is logged for January, June, October, December 2024. That is a gap in what was found.
Everything logged in
2024, by month.
The monthly tables below list all 11 events logged for 2024.
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Stoli GroupNov 27, 2024 · The US distribution arm of the Stoli vodka group filed a voluntary Chapter 11 petition in the Northern District of Texas (case 24-80146) on November 27, 2024, alongside affiliate Kentucky Owl. | Food & bev | Distress | cases.stretto.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
TupperwareSep 17, 2024 · Tupperware and certain subsidiaries filed Chapter 11 in the District of Delaware, citing years of macroeconomic pressure, and said it would pursue a sale process to protect the brand while continuing to operate. | Home | Distress | marketchameleon.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Avon Products, Inc.Aug 14, 2024 · Avon Products and affiliates, subsidiaries of Natura &Co, filed Chapter 11 in Delaware citing competition, the pandemic, the war in Ukraine and 380+ talc suits including a $24.4 million Chicago verdict. The separate US Avon brand, owned by LG H&H, was not part of the filing. | Beauty | Distress | retaildive.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Ted Baker UK store estateJul 29, 2024 · Administrators confirmed all remaining UK Ted Baker stores would close in late summer and early autumn 2024, on top of 15 closures and 245 redundancies in April. The brand continued via wholesale partners; Frasers Group was reported to be in talks. | Apparel | Shutdown | retail-insight-network.com | |
Basic FunJul 3, 2024 · The toy company (Care Bears, Tonka, Lincoln Logs) entered a bankruptcy restructuring. Categorised as 'other' because toys sit outside the six named consumer categories but inside the consumer-brand perimeter. | Other | Distress | retaildive.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
KidKraftMay 13, 2024 · The 50-year-old wooden toy and playset brand filed a prepackaged Chapter 11 in the Northern District of Texas plus a Canadian filing, with all US and Canadian assets to be sold to Backyard Products. | Other | Distress | retaildive.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Beautycounter (Counter Brands)April 2024 · The clean beauty brand collapsed after Carlyle's 2021 majority investment and founder Gregg Renfrew bought the assets back in 2024, later relaunching as Counter. Beauty Independent's 2024 review groups Beautycounter with other founder buybacks; the exact April 2024 foreclosure date could not be confirmed against a primary filing, so precision is month and confidence is rumored. | Beauty | Distress | Gregg Renfrew (founder) | beautyindependent.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
BowFlex Inc. (BowFlex, Schwinn, JRNY)March 2024 · The home fitness company filed Chapter 11 in early March 2024 with a stalking-horse agreement in place; Johnson Health Tech Retail's purchase was approved April 15 and closed April 22, 2024. Date precision is month-level: this source confirms the bankruptcy and sale but not the petition day. | Wellness | Distress | johnsonhealthtech.com | |
Ted BakerMar 22, 2024 · The UK and Europe retail holding company for Ted Baker entered administration on 22 March 2024 with Benjamin Dymant and Daniel Smith of Teneo appointed joint administrators. All UK stores were closed by autumn 2024. | Apparel | Distress | thegazette.co.uk | |
The Body Shop US LimitedMar 12, 2024 · The US subsidiary filed Chapter 7 in the Southern District of New York after ceasing operations on March 1, 2024, alleging the UK parent had swept its cash and then withheld it. A separate filing from the UK administration. | Beauty | Distress | retaildive.com |
| Brand | Category | What happened | Asset buyer | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
The Body Shop International Ltd (UK business)Feb 13, 2024 · The UK arm of the ethical beauty brand entered administration on 13 February 2024 with Geoff Rowley, Alastair Massey and Anthony Wright of FRP Advisory appointed joint administrators, months after Aurelius bought it from Natura &Co. | Beauty | Distress | gov.uk |
Most of these brands did not fail at the top line. They ran out of margin, then out of cash. If any of that is starting to rhyme with your own numbers, the earlier we look, the more options you still have.
What 2024 was made of,
by category.
11 events logged in 2024, split by category. The counts below add up to that total.
| Category | Total items logged | Share of ledger | With a disclosed amount | Largest disclosed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Beauty | 4 | 36.4% | 2 | $125M |
Apparel | 2 | 18.2% | 0 | Not disclosed |
Other | 2 | 18.2% | 1 | $10.5M |
Food & bev | 1 | 9.1% | 0 | Not disclosed |
Home | 1 | 9.1% | 0 | Not disclosed |
Wellness | 1 | 9.1% | 0 | Not disclosed |
Closures, and brands
that kept trading.
| Type | Events logged | Share |
|---|---|---|
Distress | 10 | 90.9% |
Shutdown | 1 | 9.1% |
The other years,
and the full ledger.
Is your brand healthy, or just still moving?
I've run buy-side diligence on distressed consumer brands and the operator turnaround on brands worth saving. If you want an honest read on your margin, your payback, and the single points of failure a lender would find, I can give you the buy-side version before the market runs it on you. The form takes two minutes.
Start a conversation More about Taylor →